## SAPF Honorary Members

"... being held in high esteem by the membership of this organization, and in recognition and sincere appreciation of outstanding service to Powerlifting"

## Rodney Anthony

Rodney Anthony is well known for his involvement in Powerlifting, Weightlifting and Strongman. Rodney himself competed in Powerlifting and Weightlifting and held many South African records and titles over a 37 year period, competing every year for those 37 years. Rodney started Strongman competitions in South African in 1985 and promoted and ran the World Mighty Man in 1992 and 1993. Rodney also became involved in coaching Paralympic Powerlifting athletes in 1998.

Rodney is one of the most experienced powerlifting coaches in the world, and is known to be ome of the best tacticians on competition day. He currently coaches a number of powerlifters, weightlifters and is responsible for the strength training of several National and Provincial cricketers, cyclists, strongmen and dancers.

Powerlifting and weightlifting have been Rodney's passion for the last 47 years. From 1988 ro 2018 Rodney was the National Powerlifting coach, the Olympic Weightlifting Coach at the 1999 African Games, as well as Paralympic Powerlifting Coach to the Sydney, Athens and Beijing Paralympics. Rodney has coached numerous world champions, scores of medalists and achieved a bronze medal at the Paralympics with Moekie Grobbelaar. Amongst other achievements, Rodney was Harry Shimalistos' coach when he broke the World open deadlift record in the IPF Open World Championships of 2014, winning the bronze medal overall. He also coached Mariska Casey to Master 1 IPF World Champion in 2018.

There are few people who have had a greater influence on Powerlifting in South Africa than Rodney Anthony. At any gathering of powerlifters you will see lifters, administrators and coaches whose journeys he has had a hand in shaping.

It gives the SAPF great pleasure to present this Honorary Membership Award to Rodney Anthony.

March 2022







Rodney Anthony receiving his Honorary membership award from SAPF President Hannie Smith